top of page


The Jefferson R-7 Fire Protection District covers approximately 63 square miles of unincorporated southeastern Jefferson County, Missouri. We are the third largest fire district in Jefferson County. The District coverage area includes approximately 8.6 miles of Interstate 55 (Miles 173.5 to 164.9), 9 miles of US HWY 61, and 6.7 miles of the Mississippi River (River Miles 146.0-139.3). Also included in our District are Missouri Department of Transportation State Roads DD, T, TT, and AA within Jefferson County. 


Our District is a rural area with mostly agricultural and residential occupancies but also includes a few commercial and large industrial occupancies. We are bordered to the east by the State of Illinois, to the north by the Crystal City and Festus Fire Departments, to the west by the Hematite and DeSoto Rural Fire Protection Districts, and to the south by Ste. Genevieve and St. Francois Counties.


Established in 1973 from a pre-existing Fire Association, the District operates one centralized Fire Station as a combination department with both paid and paid-per-call members providing 24 hour, year-round emergency services to our residents, businesses, and visitors. The District staffing currently consists of 1 full-time Fire Chief, 9 full-time Firefighters working 48-hour shifts, 14 part-time Firefighters, and 3 volunteer (paid per call) Firefighters.

In addition to fire suppression/prevention and rescue operations, the District provides Basic EMS response in cooperation with our partners at the Joachim-Plattin Ambulance District (JPAD) with a majority of members being licensed as a Missouri Bureau of EMS EMT or Paramedic. Additionally, the District maintains a certified Public Safety Dive Team to compliment our water rescue boat operations.

The Jefferson R-7 Fire Protection District is currently rated by the Insurance Services Office (ISO) as a 4/4X rated agency.

bottom of page